Vera Murrill, Chairperson Ella Fields-Bunch, Secretary Victoria Butler, Member **Bobby Siller, Member** Kevin Jones, Member



Jackie Greene, Director Erica Critcher, Deputy Director

Perquimans County Board of Elections

601 A South Edenton Road Street PO Box 336

Hertford, N.C. 27944 Phone: 252.426.5598

Fax: 252.426.5068

MINUTES

Tuesday, March 7th, 2023

The Perquimans County Board of Elections held its meeting on Tuesday, March 7th, 2023, in the conference room at the NC State Extension Building, 601 S. Edenton Road St., Hertford, NC at 6 p.m.

Board of Elections

Members Present: Vera Murrill, Chair; Victoria Butler, Kevin Jones, Bobby Siller

Others Present

800-21m Jackie Greene, Director; Erica Critcher, Deputy Director; Tim Brinn, Republican Party Chair-

Board of Elections Chair, Vera Murrill welcomed all in attendance. The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m.

Consent Agenda

Upon motion made by Kevin Jones and second by Victoria Butler, the Board voted unanimously to approve the minutes of February 15, February 16, and February 21, 2023 as presented. Victoria Butler second the motion

Old Business

Board of Education Decision for Workday/Polling Places - Chairwoman Murrill provided a brief description on the February 27, 2023 Board of Education meeting. The Board was given a copy of the response letter sent by the Perquimans County Board of Education Chairman, Russell Lassiter. The letter informed the Board that due to calendar restrictions; they will not be able to incorporate additional workdays into the 2023-2024 calendar. Upon a motion made by Victoria Butler and second by Bobby Siller, the Board voted unanimously to approve drafting a letter in response to Board of Education's response regarding Board of Election's request, which once written will be approved and signed by BOE Chair.

Discussion of Polling Location: West Hertford, East Hertford – Upon a motion made by Kevin Jones and second by Victoria Butler the Board voted unanimously to approve exploring alternative election day polling locations, other than schools, for the precincts of West Hertford and East Hertford.

Director and Deputy Director Duties – Upon a motion by Bobby Siller and second by Victoria Butler, the Board voted unanimously to create a new subcommittee to create performance evaluation, and review Director Duties in job description. The Board agreed that Victoria Butler (B) and Ella Fields-Bunch (D) will serve on this subcommittee.

DOVM

Use of laptops by Board Members –Upon a motion by Kevin Jones and second by Victoria Butler, the Board voted unanimously to use the laptops for BOE meetings once the I.T. services make needed fixes.

Closed Session Protocol – Director Greene provided the Board with a printout of § 143-318.11(10) (c). This was provided to add clarity that a closed session meeting must only discuss the topics under the General Statue cited.

Amazon Account – Director Greene informed the Board that the County does not have their own account with Amazon.

Recording of Minutes/Records Retention – The Board was made aware meetings can be recorded via audio and /or video. However, the recording is then considered a public record and must be kept according to the state retention schedule. While it is understood that at this time Deputy Director Critcher will compose the minutes, Ella Field-Bunch, Secretary, will perform the final review. It was agreed by the Board that in the future minutes will not be recorded.

New Business

2023-2024 Budget Preparation – Director Greene presented the Board with a draft of the proposed budget for the 2023-2024 fiscal year. While the budget is due March 31^{st} , 2023, it will not be presented to the County Commissioner until April 2023. The Board agreed to create a subcommittee to collaborate with the Director to finalize the budget. Bobby Siller (p) and Victoria Butler (R) will serve on this subcommittee.

Public Comment

N/A

Closed Session

Upon a motion by Bobby Siller and second by Kevin Jones, the Board voted unanimously to move to closed session per § 143-318.11. (a) (5) (6) at 7:48 p.m.

Adjournment

Murrill, Chair

ctoria Butler, Member

Bobby Siller, Member

Ella Fields- Bunch, Secretary

Kevin Jones, Member

Vera Murrill, Chairperson Ella Fields-Bunch, Secretary Victoria Butler, Member Bobby Siller, Member Kevin Jones, Member



Jackie Greene, Director Erica Critcher, Deputy Director

Fax: 252.426.5068

Perquimans County Board of Elections

601 A South Edenton Road Street PO Box 336

Hertford, N.C. 27944

Phone: 252.426.5598

MINUTES

Wednesday, March 22nd, 2023

The Perquimans County Board of Elections held its meeting on Wednesday, March 22nd, 2023, in the conference room at the NC State Extension Building, 601 S. Edenton Road St., Hertford, NC at 3 p.m.

Board of Elections Members Present: Vera Murrill, Chair; Victoria Butler, Kevin Jones, Bobby Siller

Others Present

Jackie Greene, Director; Erica Critcher, Deputy Director; Tim Brinn, Republican Party Chair; Sue Engelhardt, League of Women Voters

Board of Elections Chair, Vera Murrill welcomed all in attendance. The meeting was called to order at 3:03 p.m.

New Business

FY 2023/2024 Budget – An overview was provided to all present Board members regarding the budget subcommittee meeting that was held previously. Upon a motion made by Victoria Butler and second by Bobby Siller, the Board voted unanimously to approve the 2023-2024 budget as written. Further discussion regarding step increase for both the Director and Deputy Director of elections was discussed. Director Greene provided the Board with more information on the process of increasing steps as well as the Employee Action Form (EAF). Upon a motion made by Bobby Siller and second by Kevin Jones, the Board voted unanimously to increase the salary of the Director and Deputy Director of elections to the next step as identified by the County.

Public Comment

N/A

Closed Session

Upon a motion by Bobby Siller and second by Kevin Jones, the Board voted unanimously to move to closed session per § 143-318.11. (a) (5) at 3:15 p.m.

Adjournment

Upon a motion made by Kevin Jones and second by Bobby Siller, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 4 p.m.

an Mursell

Vera Murrill, Chair

tla

Victoria Butler, Member

Ella Fields- Bunch, Secretary

Bobby Siller, Member

Kevin Jones, Member