Bobby Siller, Chairperson Kevin Jones, Secretary Ella Fields-Bunch, Member Vera Murrill, Member Victoria Butler, Member



Jackie Greene, Director Erica Cartwright, Deputy Director

Perquimans County Board of Elections

601 A South Edenton Road Street PO Box 336 Hertford, N.C. 27944 Phone: 252.426.5598 Fax: 252.426.5068

MINUTES

The Perquimans County Board of Elections held its meeting on Tuesday, August 1, 2023, in the conference room at the NC State Extension Building, 601 S. Edenton Road St. Hertford, NC.

Board of Elections

Members Present: Bobby Siller, Chair; Kevin Jones, Member; Victoria Butler, Member, Vera Murrill, Member, Ella Fields-Bunch, Member

Others Present

Jackie Greene, Director; Erica Cartwright, Deputy Director

Chairman Siller welcomed all in attendance. The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m.

Approval of Agenda

Chairman Siller shared his expectations for the agenda moving forward. Upon a motion made by Member Butler and second by Member Fields-Bunch, the Board unanimously voted to approve the agenda as presented.

Approval of Prior Meeting Minutes

Upon a motion made by Member Jones and second by Member Butler, the Board unanimously voted to present for approval the July 11th, 2023 and July 18th, 2023 meeting minutes at the September BOE meeting.

Director's Report

Director Greene provided the Board with a brief update on: the BOE budget, NCSBE memos and Information revisions, registered voter information for Perquimans County, BOE calendar updates, Election Officials Updates, and Summer Conference Information.

Director Greene also presented a *Board of Elections Member's Handbook* for each BOE member along with a brief overview of its contents.

Board Members Comments, Concerns/Committee Report's

-N/A

Old Business

Voter demographic information - The Board considered whether voter tally information, along with accompanying demographics, should be reviewed at each monthly BOE meeting. Upon a three to two (3-2) vote, the Board voted to continue to review voter tally information with accompanying demographics at each meeting.

Voting members: Chairman Siller- aye, Member Jones - nay, Member Murrill - aye, Member Fields-Bunch - aye, Member Butler - nay

New Business

Public Comment Review - Chairman Siller proposed an adjustment to the Public Comment period. Upon a motion made by Member Butler and second by Member Fields-Bunch, the Board unanimously voted to adjust the Public Comment period from 3 minutes to 5 minutes.

Swearing in of Board Member - Ella Fields-Bunch was sworn in for another term as a Member of the Perquimans County BOE by Chairman Siller.

Board Secretary Election - Upon a motion made by Member Butler and second by Member Murrill, the Board unanimously voted to appoint Kevin Jones as the new Perquimans County BOE Secretary.

Public Comment

Adjournment

Upon a motion made by Member Murrill and second by Member Butler, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 8:08 p.m.

Bobby Siller, Chair

Ell. Fileb By Ella Fields-Bunch, Member

Victoria Butler, Member

evin Jones, Secretary

Vera Murrill, Member