Contact Animal Control

Shelby White
Animal Control
110 N Church St / P.O. Box 31
Hertford, NC 27944
(252)426-5615
Fax: (252)426-4019

Latest Events

Tue Dec 11 @ 7:00PM -
Planning Board Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @ 8:00AM -
Soil & Water Conservation Meeting
Fri Dec 14 @12:00PM - 05:00PM
Library Closing Early
Mon Dec 17 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Work Session
Thu Dec 20 @ 5:30PM -
Social Services Board Meeting
Fri Dec 21 @ 2:00PM - 05:00PM
Library Closing Early
Mon Dec 24
County Offices Closed
Tue Dec 25
County Offices Closed
Wed Dec 26
County Offices Closed
Mon Dec 31 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Library Closed
Animal Control

The Animal Control Officer is to enforce the county and state ordinances, laws and resolutions related to animals. The Officer will also answer citizen requests to pick up stray, sick, nuisance or confined animals. The Officer will also respond and take reports of animal bites, injured animals, animals displaying aggressive behavior and rabies suspects.

Please remember to have your animals spayed or neutered.

Tri-County Animal Shelter

Tri-County Animal Shelter (Perquimans/Gates/Chowan) is located at 138 Icaria Road, Tyner, NC. The phone number is 252-221-8514. The shelter is available to provide shelter for unwanted animals free of charge.  For more information about the Tri-County Animal Shelter, visit their website.

Animal Traps

Animal traps are available to be checked out from animal control. There is a Financial Responsibility Agreement that must be signed to repair or replace damaged traps. Traps will not be set when the weather is 32 degrees or less or in bad rainy weather. Traps will not be set over weekends.