WORK SESSION November 19, 2018

7:00 p.m.

The Perquimans County Board of Commissioners met in a regular Work Session on Monday, November 19, 2018, at 7:00 p.m. in the Commissioners' Room located on the first floor of the Perquimans County Courthouse Annex.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Wallace Nelson, Chairman Joseph W. Hoffler Edward R. Muzzulin	Fondella Leigh, Vice Chair T. Kyle Jones Charles Woodard
MEMBERS ABSENT:	None	
OTHERS PRESENT:	Frank Heath, County Manager	Mary Hunnicutt, Clerk to the Board
	Board of Education: Matthew Cheeseman, Superintendent Mr. Russell Lassiter Ms. Arlene Yates	Dr. Anne White, Chair Ms. Amy Spaugh, Vice Chair Mr. Matthew Peeler

After the Chairman called the meeting to order, Commissioner Jones gave the invocation and the Chairman led the Pledge of Allegiance. The following matter was discussed.

MATTHEW CHEESEMAN, SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS

Chairman Nelson introduced Mr. Cheeseman who introduced the Perquimans County Board of Education members that were present along with Brenda Lassiter, Executive Director of the Perquimans County Schools Foundation, Inc. He then stated that they came to discuss the N.C. Charter School Application for the Elaine Riddick Charter School that is proposing to open in Perquimans County. After distributing copies of the application to the Board, Mr. Cheeseman explained the discrepancies in the document and explained how this will impact the Perquimans County Public School System. After he spoke, Dr. White, Mr. Lassiter, Ms. Yates, and Mr. Peeler made comments in support of Mr. Cheeseman's findings and they encouraged the Commissioners do to anything that they could to assist with stopping this from happening due to the impact that it would have on the Perquimans County Public School System and, ultimately, on Perquimans County. After answering some questions from the Commissioners, Mr. Cheeseman thanked the Board for their time and promised to keep them abreast of the situation.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 8:05 p.m. on motion made by Joseph W. Hoffler, seconded by Charles Woodard.

Wallace E. Nelson, Chairman

Clerk to the Board